Generated MPLAB projects don't allow debugging

Post Reply
bmairs
Posts: 69
Joined: Mon Jul 27, 2009 7:51 pm

Generated MPLAB projects don't allow debugging

Post by bmairs » Wed Mar 09, 2011 7:57 pm

The MPLAB projects that are generated on compilation don't set up the compilation within MPLAB to allow for debugging and stepping through the code. This is generally what I want to do when I go to use MPLAB. I've found that changing the following options allow for code step-through and variable watching:
Project->Build options->Project under the MPLAB LINK30 tab, Diagnostics category select "Generate map file"
Project->Build options->Project under the MPLAB C30 tab, General category select "Generate debugging information"

Would it make sense for these options to be set by default in the generated MPLAB projects?

bmairs
Posts: 69
Joined: Mon Jul 27, 2009 7:51 pm

Re: Generated MPLAB projects don't allow debugging

Post by bmairs » Wed Mar 09, 2011 8:20 pm

If I change just those two settings I mentioned above, then the .mcp file TOOL_SETTINGS section looks as follows:
[TOOL_SETTINGS]
TS{7D9C6ECE-785D-44CB-BA22-17BF2E119622}=
TS{25AC22BD-2378-4FDB-BFB6-7345A15512D3}=-g -O3 -fschedule-insns -fschedule-insns2
TS{7DAC9A1D-4C45-45D6-B25A-D117C74E8F5A}=-Map="$(BINDIR_)$(TARGETBASE).map" --report-mem -o"$(BINDIR_)$(TARGETBASE).$(TARGETSUFFIX)"
TS{509E5861-1E2A-483B-8B6B-CA8DB7F2DD78}=
The bold parts are the only things that've changed.

LubinKerhuel
Site Admin - Expert
Posts: 616
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2007 11:23 pm
Location: Bayonne- France
Contact:

Re: Generated MPLAB projects don't allow debugging

Post by LubinKerhuel » Sun Mar 13, 2011 12:18 am

Thanks Bryant,

This will be taken into account in the next release (after 3.4c).

Lubin

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 17 guests