bad link

resodad
Posts: 71
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 1:06 pm
Location: West Point, New York

bad link

Postby resodad » Tue Jul 07, 2009 1:15 pm

Hello,
I downloaded the IMU files and I get "bad link" in the simulink blocks even though the folder containing the blockset is in the matlab path. A different simulink model (in a different folder) with the dsPIC blocks opens correctly. Can yuu help?
Thanks,
John

Matlab show this error:

Discrete
Warning: File I/O error on file 'dspic.tlc'
Operation that caused an error: find.
In general\private\openmdl at 13
In open at 154
In uiopen at 196
Warning: IMU_dsPIC_30f4012_ComplementaryFilter_20Mips.mdl, line 320:
Cannot create target component.
In general\private\openmdl at 13
In open at 154
In uiopen at 196
Warning: Unable to load block diagram 'dsPICdrivers'.
In general\private\openmdl at 13
In open at 154
In uiopen at 196

LubinKerhuel
Site Admin - Expert
Posts: 616
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2007 11:23 pm
Location: Marseille - France
Contact:

Re: bad link

Postby LubinKerhuel » Wed Jul 08, 2009 12:47 am

I could not reproduce this problem.

Please Make sure you install properly the blockset and that you did not install it in the Matlab directory.

Then, if you still have that problem, could you provide more info about your configuration?

Lubin

resodad
Posts: 71
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 1:06 pm
Location: West Point, New York

Re: bad link

Postby resodad » Wed Jul 08, 2009 2:14 pm

Thanks Lubin.
The demo blockset was gotten from tech support at microchip. The direct-download file did not workon my computer. I attach the file. Computer is Windows Vista. Matlab is R2009b. I can drag new dsPIC blocks from the simulink menu to your model, but your originals can't seem to find the blockset. The blockset is in the folder: C:\Program Files\Microchip\MPLAB IDE\Tools\MATLAB\dsPICblockset which is on the matlab path.
John

LubinKerhuel
Site Admin - Expert
Posts: 616
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2007 11:23 pm
Location: Marseille - France
Contact:

Re: bad link

Postby LubinKerhuel » Wed Jul 08, 2009 6:48 pm

Dear John,

The demo models are done with the blockset I developped. Thus, you should install my blockset to make them works, a version is freely available on my website.

Microchip blockset can be installed next to my blockset. Please install them both, test them booth, and let us know what are the strong points of each blockset.

Lubin

resodad
Posts: 71
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 1:06 pm
Location: West Point, New York

Re: bad link

Postby resodad » Mon May 03, 2010 5:40 pm

Hi Lubin,
I have both your blockset and the Microchip blockset installed. Is it normal for the microchip blockset to produce code with your name? See pasted below from the top of the c code generated by the attached model with only Microchip blocks. What's going on?
Thanks,
John
/*
* File: main.c
*
* Real-Time Workshop code generated for Simulink model IConly.
*
* Model version : 1.6
* Real-Time Workshop file version : 7.4.1 (R2009bSP1) 02-Mar-2010
* Real-Time Workshop file generated on : Mon May 03 12:03:28 2010
* TLC version : 7.4 (Jul 14 2009)
* C source code generated on : Mon May 03 12:03:28 2010
*--------------------------------------------------------------
* Embedded Coder for Microchip dsPIC family. |
* Generate .c and .h files from your Matlab/simulink model |
* and compile the diagram to .hex and .coff file that can be |
* downloaded directly into the microcontroller |
* |
* Licence Accorded to John Rogers, Ph.D., P.E. |
* West Point University |
* |
* Written by Lubin KERHUEL - http://www.kerhuel.eu |
* - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - |
* Version 3.1a 16-Mar-2010 |
* For Matlab 7.8 R2009a |
*--------------------------------------------------------------
*/
.
.
.
Attachments
IConlyCode.zip
(12.23 KiB) Downloaded 120 times

LubinKerhuel
Site Admin - Expert
Posts: 616
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2007 11:23 pm
Location: Marseille - France
Contact:

Re: bad link

Postby LubinKerhuel » Tue May 04, 2010 7:21 am

Model is well configured to works with microchip blockset.
I do not have microchim blockset installed on my system, thus blocks appears as breaked link.

Does this code works ?

No Idea why it generates including my name. I previously noticed microchip takine inspiration from my code (same variable names everywhere, see example here). I hope this is not the case :shock:

What if you uninstall my blockset ? That would be interresting.
Anyway, it microchip blockset working good now ?

Lubin

resodad
Posts: 71
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 1:06 pm
Location: West Point, New York

Re: bad link

Postby resodad » Tue May 04, 2010 11:52 am

Lubin,
Sometimes the Microchip blockset works, sometimes it does not. I have not spent as much time with it as I have with yours. It's probably my error somewhere. I am trying to get the input capture block to send to UART. I will ask Microchip.

Here is my brief comparison:
Microchip Blockset:
Good:
Backed by big stable company
Allows direct timer configuration
has optical encoder block
Needs improvement:
Getting started is difficult--lots of errors and at least one bug
demo models need to be modified before they work

LK Blockset:
Good:
Excellent forum
quick response by Lubin
Has block ordering
in my experience, it was easier to learn to use
supports PIC32
Needs improvement:
Needs a bit of English language attention

Regards,
John

LubinKerhuel
Site Admin - Expert
Posts: 616
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2007 11:23 pm
Location: Marseille - France
Contact:

Re: bad link

Postby LubinKerhuel » Tue May 04, 2010 11:26 pm

Thanks Jon for this comparison

resodad wrote:Allows direct timer configuration (Microchip blockset)

I developed the master block help page. It is possible to force prescaler value of some timers (except for timer1). It may help...

Lubin


Return to “Requirement, Installation & Configuration”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest